NTSE Selection Procedure 2023

NTSE Selection Procedure 2023 Overview

The Talent Identification for NTSE Examination involves a two-stage selection process. While the individual State/UT selects the first Stage, the second stage selection at the national level is conducted by the NCERT.

Step of NTSE Selection Procedure:

NTSE (National Talent Search Examination) 2023 is a national-level exam. There are two stages of this exam. Stage I of NTSE is conducted by the State or Union Territory Government, and Stage II is conducted by NCERT on behalf of the Central Government. This test is for the secondary school level to identify students with high intelligence and skill and to provide scholarships to deserving students.
Students who qualify both Stages of NTSE 2023 will be awarded a scholarship of Rs 1250 per month for class XI to XII plus Rs 2000 per month for undergraduate and postgraduate courses under certain eligibility conditions.
This final merit list is prepared based on Stage I and II marks. Out of the seats, 15% of the total scholarship is reserved for SC candidates, 3% for physically disabled candidates and 7.5% for ST category candidates.
We will describe the two stages involved in this test -
Stage I- State Level Exam
Stage II- National Level Examination
You can also check out the complete details about NTSE, NTSE Exam Date, NTSE Application Process 2023, etc.

Stage I of NTSE Selection Procedure:

The NTSE 2023 Stage I is the Primary Stage of the selection process. The various states and union territories are in charge of this Phase. There are exam centres for NTSE 2023 in each state.
  • This exam is mainly to recommend several candidates for the second-level exam conducted by NCERT.
  • The first Stage of NTSE consists of two papers.
  • Paper I is a Mental Ability Test (MAT) consisting of 100 MCQs with 120 minutes.
  • Paper II is the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), which has 100 MCQs and a duration of 2 hours or 120 minutes.
For more details, check NTSE Exam Pattern & Syllabus.
Important Key Points of NTSE Stage 1:
  • The marks of the state-level examination are not added to the national-level examination for awarding the scholarship.
  • No Correspondence will be entertained by NCERT regarding the Stage I Examination conducted by the State/UT.
  • Candidates having any query/complaint/clarification regarding State Level Examination shall correspond only with the State Examination Agencies.

Stage 2 of NTSE Selection Procedure:

NCERT conducts the second Stage of the NTSE exam. Only the candidates who qualify in Phase I are allowed to appear in Phase II of the examination. Qualified candidates from different states will be allotted an exam centre in the same or selected State.
The Second Stage of NTSE also consists of 2 papers: The mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT). Both papers consist of 100 MCQs and the time allotted is 120 minutes. The exam is held in offline mode. The medium of examination will be as per the choice of the candidate between English or Hindi. Only selected candidates will be informed by registered letter and through the official NCERT website, www.ncert.nic.in. Along with individual results, NCERT also publishes cut-off scores for the NTSE Stage II exam.

NTSE Qualifying Marks:

Category Marks
General 40%
PWD 32%
Scheduled Caste 32%
Scheduled Tribe 32%

NTSE Final Selection:

  • The final selection will be based on the current year's NTSE merit list. This merit list will be issued by NCERT.
  • Shortly after the result declaration, NCERT will release the cut-off of the NTSE Exam.
  • The merit list will be final, and no further correspondence will be entertained regarding rechecking.
  • To maintain transparency, OMR sheets of the qualified students are also issued along with the result.
  • Only 2000 scholarships are given out to NTSE-qualified students.

Scholarship Eligibility:

Awardees studying in science, social sciences, humanities, languages, commerce, business studies and fine arts will be eligible to receive scholarships up to PhD level, while those studying professional courses in medicine, engineering, technology, management and law the awardees will be eligible to receive the scholarship up to the second-degree level.
The awardee will receive INR 1290/- per month for class XI and XII, and for UG and PG, they will receive INR 2000/- per month. The distribution renewal of the NTSE scholarship is done under the following rules:
  • Candidates who appear in approved courses.
  • The awardee must have secured a minimum of 60% marks in aggregate each year.
  • Has good conduct (certified by the Head of the Institution/college and continues to study as a regular student)
  • Not absent without proper leave
  • Takes full-time basis study
  • Does not do any type of paid job

Distribution of the NTSE Scholarship:

The awardees will be sent an award letter, a certificate of NTSE scholarship, and details of the disbursement of the scholarship in due course. The below-mentioned steps are followed for Award distribution-
  • As long as they want an academic scholarship, they must submit the claim bill annually.
  • This document will have details about
  • School/college of the student,
  • Course they have opted for with different subjects and total marks obtained in the particular year.
  • An acceptance undertaking
  • Character Certificate to be filled by the Principal of the School
  • Claim bill for payment of scholarship seeking proforma details - bank account and advance receipt
  • Annual progress report
  • Candidates will get the scholarship in their Account via online mode only.
  • They must obtain a minimum of 60% aggregate marks to be awarded the scholarship.
  • If they fail to obtain the minimum marks, the scholarship for that year will be forfeited.
  • Candidates will be disqualified for scholarship payment if they fail to score the minimum aggregate for two consecutive or non-consecutive years.

Need Assistance call us !!